

National Church of England Academy Trust Governors and Related Information March 2024

National Church of England Academy joined the MITRE Trust on 1 January 2021.

Governors of the academy under these new arrangements are listed below.

Governor name	Category	Appointed	End of Term	Specific /Additional Role[s] /Committee Membership
Mr Martin Brailsford	Principal (ex- officio)	01/01/21		·
Rev Helen Chantry	Foundation (ex- officio)	01/01/21		
Mrs Kirsty Cowley	Foundation [PCC]	19/06/2022	19/06/2026	Chair of the Governing Body
				Standards & Outcomes Committee
				Finance & Resources Committee
Mr Craig Dean	Community	16/07/2023	16/07/2027	Chair of Standards & Outcomes Committee
				Link Governor Safeguarding
Mrs Jo Eastwood	Foundation [DBE]	19/07/21	18/07/25	Link Governor – Health and Safety
				Finance & Resources Committee
Mr Tim Jenkinson	Parent (elected)	08/12/21	07/12/25	Finance & Resources Committee
				Link Governor Pupil Premium
Mr Ben Marshall	Foundation [DBE]	01/01/21	15/03/24	Vice-Chair of the Governing Body
				Standards & Outcomes Committee
				Link Governor – Ethos and Sixth Form
Mr Martin Paine	Foundation [DBE]	27/03/2023	27/03/2027	Finance & Resources Committee
				Link Governor Complaints
Mr Michael Pilling	Foundation (DBE)	19/05/21	18/05/25	Standards & Outcomes Committee
				Link Governor CEIAG
Mr Ben Walton	Staff (Co-Opted)	11/05/21	10/05/25	
Mr Steve Yardley	Foundation (PCC)	13/07/2022	13/07/2026	Chair - Finance & Resources Committee
				Link Governor RHSE

Mrs Jenny Kirkwood	Parent (elected)	26/09/2023	26/09/2027	7 Standards & Outcomes Committee	
				Link Governor SEND	

Categories of Governor and current vacancies

Under Terms of Reference for the Governing Body agreed in June 2020, the Governing Body is made up 15 governors. The table also shows by whom governors are appointed.

Category of Governor	No of posts	Vacancies
Foundation (appointed by the Southwell and Nottingham Diocesan Board of Education – DBE)	5	0
Foundation (appointed by the Parochial Church Council Hucknall St Mary Magdalene - PCC)	3	1
Foundation (ex-officio appointed by the Southwell and Nottingham Diocesan Board of	1	0
Education – DBE)		
Staff (elected)	1	1
Staff (co-opted)	1	0
Parent (elected)	2	1
Community	1	0
Principal (ex-officio)	1	0

Governors who resigned / end of term during previous 12 months			
Full name	Date of appointment	Date of resignation	
Mrs Amy Harmston-Hall	01/10/2021	11/05/2023	

Governors' Declarations of Interest: Pecuniary/Business 2023/24

Name	Name/ nature of pecuniary/business interest declared	Type of Business	
Mr Martin Brailsford	Employed as Head Teacher of National Church of England	Education	
	Academy		
Rev Helen Chantry	Employed by Southwell and Nottingham Diocese as a Vicar	Church	
	Charity trusteeships		
	Byron Charity		
Mrs Kirsty Cowley	Employed by Southwell and Nottingham Diocesan Board of	Church/Education	
	Finance as a Deanery Administrator		
Mr Craig Dean	Employed by Hollygirt School as Head of Y7, Head of Geography,	Education	
	PE teacher and Forest School Leader		
Mrs Jo Eastwood	Director - Belmar Services Ltd	Building Services	
	Contract for provision of air conditioning services awarded to		
	company during 2019/20 following regular procurement exercise.		
	Member of professional bodies - IOSH; ILM and AAT		
Mr Tim Jenkinson	Employed as a Performance Manager by Tribal Group	Consultancy	
Mr Ben Marshall	Relationship – member of NCEA teaching staff	Education	
	Businesses (partner or sole trader)		
	Unity String Quartet		
	Temple Estate Lake (Exclusive Use Fishery)		
	River Wye Holiday		
	Marshall Property Holdings		
	Director		

	Ben Marshall Management Ltd	
	Duplex Management Ltd	
	Leen Valley Angling Ltd	
	Kingfisher Productions Ltd	
	Artist Management Services Ltd	
	Shandybar Ltd	
	Charity trusteeships	
	Institute of Fishery Management	
	Member of professional bodies	
	Institute of Directors	
	Institute of Fisheries Management	
	The One Percent Network	
Mr Michael Pilling	No pecuniary/business interest declared	N/A
Mr Ben Walton	Employed as teacher at National Church of England Academy	Education
Mr Steve Yardley	Relationship – friend of member of NCEA teaching staff	Education
Wir Steve Taratey	Employed - Duplex Management Ltd	Luddation
	Director:-	
	Duplex Management Ltd	
	Duplex Business Services Ltd	
	Director - Coolways-UK Ltd	
	Director - Cool Packaging Holdings Ltd	
	Professional Apprenticeships Ltd	
	Shandybar Ltd	
	Member of professional bodies – Institute of Directors; Fellow	
	Institute of the Motor Industry (FIMI)	
	Governor of Manor Academy in Mansfield - part of the Two	
	Counties Trust	
Mrs Jenny Kirkwood		
Senior Leaders who contril	bute	
Mrs Kristy Boothroyd	Relationship – Senior Leader at MITRE	Education
Mr Alex Hawkins	No External Business Interest Declared /member of staff	

Attendance at Meetings of NCEA Trust Board, Local Governing Body and Committees 2022/23

Name	Meeting	Attendance Record	
		Possible	emic Year 2022/23 Actual
Mr M Brailsford	Local Governing Body	6	6
	Committee(s)	6	6
Rev H Chantry	Local Governing Body	6	5
	Committee(s)	0	0
Mrs Kirsty Cowley	Local Governing Body	6	6
	Committee(s)	6	5
Mr Craig Dean	Local Governing Body	6	5
	Committee(s)	3	2
Mrs Jo Eastwood	Local Governing Body	6	4
	Committee(s)	3	2
Mr Tim Jenkinson	Local Governing Body	6	4
	Committee(s)	3	2
Mr Ben Marshall	Local Governing Body	6	4
	Committee(s)	3	3

Mr Martin Paine	Local Governing Body	6	6
	Committee(s)	3	3
Mr Michael Pilling	Local Governing Body	6	5
	Committee(s)	3	3
Mr Ben Walton	Local Governing Body	6	6
	Committee(s)	3	3
Mr Steve Yardley	Local Governing Body	6	6
	Committee(s)	3	3
Mrs Jenny Kirkwood	Local Governing Body	6	6
	Committee(s)	2	2

Notes on attendance at meetings

Number of meetings which trustees could attend will be lower for those trustees whose terms of office started or during the year.