Skip to content ↓
To help our students achieve their potential, the academy places great emphasis on providing a dedicated support system covering pastoral care and assistance for specialist educational needs. We want students to feel safe, secure and supported for the benefit of their learning.

Younger students are supported by their older peers, who provide advice and guidance on academy matters using their National experience to help, especially with transition into year 7.

The academy is organised into year group tutor groups, each with a designated Head of Year and Assistant Head of Year.

Home Groups meet once a day with their personal tutor. Activities include collective worship, thought for the day, academic mentoring, peer mentoring, literacy and numeracy together with administrative tasks. All students contribute to the smooth running of the tutor group and all individuals have the opportunity to take on a responsibility to assist their personal development. This includes roles such as message monitor, notice board monitor, charity leader or reading buddy.

Year Head of Year Contact Details Assistant Head of Year Contact Details
7 Mr J Gilham

jgilham@nationalacademy.org.uk

Ext. 3035

Mr A Richardson

arichardson@nationalacademy.org.uk

Ext. 3007

8 Mr K Mistry

kmistry@nationalacademy.org.uk

Ext. 3038

Mr K Barnett

kbarnett@nationalacademy.org.uk

Ext. 3007

9 Ms S Craven

scraven@nationalacademy.org.uk

Ext. 3037

Mrs K Soltysik

ksoltysik@nationalacademy.org.uk

Ext. 3036

10 Mr J Beaver

jbeaver@nationalacademy.org.uk

Ext. 3035

Mrs L Newns

lnewns@nationalacademy.org.uk

Ext. 3008

11 Mrs E Hopkin

ehopkin@nationalacademy.org.uk

Ext. 3038

Mr C Crossland

ccrossland@nationalacademy.org.uk

Ext. 3046